Surprising Answers, Surprising Questions!

From left to right, I, a visiting nun, Sr. Maria Juan Paula, and Sr. Estella

From left to right, I, a visiting nun, Sr. Maria Juan Paula, and Sr. Estella

Castel San Angelo

Castel San Angelo

The bridge near Castel San Angelo

The bridge near Castel San Angelo

Atop one of the bridges next to Castel San Angelo

Atop one of the bridges next to Castel San Angelo

Piazza Navona at Night

Piazza Navona at Night

Day 60: Monday, September 28, 2009

Rise and shine! Mama mia! It was hard to get up at 6:15 in order to make the train back to Montebello, but made it I did. I showered and was ready to start school by 8:30. I miraculously taught my classes until 1:30 and was in Rome by 2:00. Although I was tempted to stay behind and sleep, I had a date with the nuns at 2:30 and made it to their store at 2:25 sharp. There sitting on the counter was the almost-complete ivory rosary. I couldn’t believe it! It was truly beautiful. Sister Estella had deliberately not finished it, because she was waiting to see if I would like it, and if I did, how I would like to finish it. There was no question – I wanted it! I loved it! I chose the finishing pieces and hand selected the sterling silver crucifix. I watched her as her clever and deft fingers finished the detailed work. The whole time the three of us (Sr. Maria John Paula had joined our jovial soiree) told stories and laughed. Sr. Estella kept telling me that she was going to be a saint for doing all this under so much pressure and that her time in Purgatory was being spent as we spoke! She couldn’t have been more adorable.

In the midst of one of my stories, a lady’s voice chimed in from across the store (in English). Although her comment was made in passing, I invited her to join in on the conversation. I told her my life story, and she told me hers (too personal to share here). Within that one hour, there was a tremendous amount of bonding, and I loved every minute of it. I showed her the ivory rosary that Sr. had made for me and the beginning of the rosary she was making for Jerome. Tara, in turn, purchased several small rosaries for friends back home in California. Finally, Sr. Estella reminded me that I needed to get a crucifix for Jerome’s rosary, as they did not have a suitable one in the store. I spoke with Tara for a few minutes more as we were steeped in a very personal and serious conversation. At that point we decided to exchange e-mail addresses to keep in touch. I had really enjoyed meeting her and wanted to know how some important developments in her life panned out. She had expressed the same interest regarding me. After making my goodbyes, I left the store in search of the cross, but FIRST… I returned to the internet café, where lo and behold, there was my sacred flash drive – safe and sound on the attendant’s desk – just waiting for me to pick it up. I was so excited to find it, that when the attendant handed it to me, I actually hugged him! He didn’t speak a word of English, but I think that he clearly understood how happy and relieved I was to have it back in my hands.

Grinning from ear to ear, I made my way to Kiron’s to check on the plans for the evening. We decided that I would meet her in Piazza Navona at 7:30 and walk to the Irish bar for pub trivia. After that, I went on my search for the Holy Grail – Jerome’s cross. I must have gone into thirty different stores but could not find one to my satisfaction. Finally, three hours after I had left Sr. Estella, I returned to the store empty-handed. Sr. Maria offered to find me a cross herself (she would check their convent for one). I readily took her up on her offer. Then a strange look spread across her face. I was intrigued. She told me that she had something for me. I was completely baffled. I followed her over to the counter, from which she pulled out a package and handed it to me. Her smile was beaming at this point, and she told me to open it. There was a note. I pulled it out and read it. It was from Tara, and although its contents will remain private, part of it read how much she had enjoyed meeting me and wanted me to have a rosary of my own made by the nuns. She saw how much I had liked my father’s ivory rosary, and she wanted me to have a smaller and simpler version of it. Sr. Maria told her that they had had only one, which Tara had already purchased. Tara asked Sr. Maria if she could make me another, which she did during the three hours I was gone. In fact, Sister had just placed the finished rosary in the package when I had walked through the door! I pulled out the little ivory rosary and started crying. I couldn’t get over what a beautiful gesture and note a perfect stranger had left me. I was truly humbled.

The store was due to close, so I said goodnight to the nuns and promised to return the next day to pick up Jerome’s rosary. I left the store on Cloud 9. I couldn’t have been happier. I no longer felt the least bit tired, despite my lack of sleep. All felt right in the world. Tara’s, Sr. Estella’s, and Sr. Maria’s charity and kindness filled me with joy. I simply couldn’t contain myself, so I set off for a walk along the Tiber River. Nothing could spoil my delight in life – even that filthy river seemed beautiful to me! I crossed back and forth over its many bridges and took pictures of the numerous statues that line them as they were bathed in the evening’s blushing colors. I ended my tour at Castel San Angelo and decided to head toward Piazza Navona.

Because I arrived there early, I headed into a church and prayed my first rosary on my precious ivory beads, offering the prayers for the beautiful women with whom I had spent my afternoon. Afterwards, I walked my favorite piazza, drinking in the cool evening air. The sky’s colors shifted quickly, from a rosy mauve to a deep violet blue. Once it was dark enough, the bright quarter moon winked at me, and I winked right back. I circled the central fountain and watched the many couples walking by. Eventually, Kiron arrived, and we headed for the pub. I was added to the team (although I didn’t prove to be that much help), enjoyed a beer and the company of Kiron’s Irish, English, and American friends, but had to leave early to make my train. It was a thirty minute power walk to the metro, where I arrived three minutes before my train’s departure (whew!). All in all, this was an amazing day. Nothing monumental occurred, except for the spending of ordinary time with extraordinary people. I couldn’t have asked (or dreamed) for anything more. Blessings come when (and from where) you least expect them.

Published in: on October 5, 2009 at 2:06 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://helenezeiler.wordpress.com/2009/10/05/surprising-answers-surprising-questions/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment